School of Rock – Day 15 – Celebration and Reflection

SUMMARY

I took a School of Rock class in which I finally learned how to make music, as well as just understand it more.

LEADERSHIP ACTIVITY

At first I was interested, but now not really. (update: wow, I said exactly what the numbers have without realizing it)

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 2

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

I’ve learned all the basics; harmony, melody, percussion, y’know. Sometimes I like watching theory videos and sometimes I don’t.

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 3

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

I enjoy messing around with music, but I’m certainly not going to make a career out of it. (it wasn’t my intention from the start either, I would much rather prefer making games. in other words, it would just be a fun little side hobby)

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 3

PRACTICE ROOM (GUITAR LESSONS)

I really would like to learn piano, after all I love how it sounds. I just don’t have much hope of being able to pick it up at this point, especially ’cause I don’t own one to begin with.

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 4

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

Simply put, I just didn’t really enjoy this much.

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 2

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

It’s kinda interesting, not quite as much as theory though (primarily for the same reasons too)

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 3

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

Nuh-uh! Nope! I don’t want anything to do with recording anymore!

  • 1 (NOT MY THING!)
  • 2 (not really)
  • 3 (sorta interested)
  • 4 (interested)
  • 5 (YES! – I LOVE THIS STUFF!)

Your score: 1

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

Even if my understanding is a bit basic, I can somewhat understand music in general a lot more now. If I wanted to, I could try to make a song, and before this, there’d be no way that I could do that.

THE COURSE’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION (OVERALL)

Content (The WHAT)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: Pending

How to make songs is what interested me most. Everything else was kinda “eh”, but it was ok.

The most surprisingly satisfying thing that I learned is probably chord structures. Before, I didn’t even know what chords were, but after understanding them it can make a huge difference in music.

Process (The HOW)

Rating: OK  – 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5  – HIGHLY ENGAGED

Rating: Pending

I liked how flexible the class structure is, having freedoms like this makes class a lot more fun.

There’re reasons to not like it too though. I abused it a couple times. After thinking it over it seems like that was just my fault, but this is probably still the most valid response I could make.

I’m not exactly sure what I’d change. I guess I didn’t really understand the meaning of having those paper sheets for checking off the blog stuff, it made me really confused a lot of the time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *