School of Rock – Day 12 – Collaboration and Growth- Part 2

SUMMARY

Write your daily summary last, at the end of the day here… Only one to two sentences. – AND THEN DELETE THESE WORDS!

LEADERSHIP ACTIVITY

  • EVERYONE: Write a couple sentence update about what you hope to complete on your ‘afternoon’ today.
    • Remember to also add an entry to your SMART Goal Page underneath your goal statement.
    • Create a heading titled, ‘July 18th Work’.
    • Write one descriptive paragraph detailing WHAT YOU DID and LEARNED today
    • … AND THEN DELETE ALL THESE WORDS!

 Goal Page: Progress For Today

  1. Welcome to show and tell, well sorta!
  2. Embed media as evidence of today’s progress (SHOW)
  3. Write an update about your leadership project progress (TELL)
  4. Delete Mr. Le Duc’s instructions – yes, these instructions – yes the instructions you are reading right now!

PRACTICE ROOM (GUITAR LESSONS)

I returned to this video, and continued practicing the piano. I’m finally playing chords, and for once I can make sounds that aren’t terrible.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

I listened to the Song Exploder episode 175 (Vampire Weekend’s Harmony Hall). It’s a song that’s been listened to a lot in my family, especially by my mom who is coincidentally named Harmony. It was interesting to find out that each of the different parts of the song weren’t made thinking about each other, but with Ariel’s help they all fit together perfectly. I also never really understood the lyrics, but now I understand that it’s about an imagined place called the Harmony Hall, which is tainted by evil people. The cycle of power too. I didn’t really finish it, but I definitely will later. (I think I might listen to other Song Exploder episodes in my own time later too.)

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

I made a song. At first I was just messing around with new techniques, but it sounded nice so it became a first attempt at the song that would play when you increase your bond with another person. Part of me says that it doesn’t exactly capture the essence of one-on-one time with another, but I like it nonetheless.

Friendship 1.mp3

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • Listen to Freakonomics – Where Does Creativity Come From (and Why Do Schools Kill It Off)? (Ep. 355)
  • WYNTON MARSALIS
    • “My first thing I have my students do is write a mission statement. And that mission statement has three sentences. What do I want to do, how do I achieve it, and why am I doing it? And based on that mission statement, I teach them. And I have, my fundamental teaching to them is, I want you to rise above the cycle of punishment and reward. I’m not going to reward you or punish you. This is information, and you can do what you want with this information. So, you’re always actualizing. And I always tell them, if you want to learn something I can’t stop you. If you don’t want to learn it, I cannot teach you.”
  • Go for a walk and think about what this podcast meant to you.
  • Journal here about that. The more detail the better – AND THEN DELETE THESE WORDS!

STUDIO (SONGWRITING)

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • Tell your daily story here!  Highlight what you learned and enjoyed most and at least one problem you solved. Problem-solving is one of the most important skills you need in life. Employers want to know HOW you get stuff done as much as WHAT you got done – AND THEN DELETE THESE WORDS!

TODAY’s ACTIVITY EVALUATION

  • Give feedback on the class Content and Process
    • Participation will be part of your leadership project due at the end of the course
  • Fill in the Daily Activity Evaluation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *